Faster…

IMG_0049[1]

Ran with the lovely Janet Chan this morning.  My Garmin wasn’t charged, so I had to depend on Janet for pace (and distance and time).  And my damn metronome wasn’t working.  So I had to use hers.  It took most of the first mile to get that comfortable (although I couldn’t tell you what cadence we ran at).  The run was 1:40.  So I had to run about 50 minutes out and 50 minutes back.  I asked to train this season at 12:30. I would guess that last year at this time I was able to run at about 13:30 on an extended run.

I did something else today, that is probably just as, if not more, important.  I ran all the way home along the Marina Vista parking lot.  I always walk that 1/2 mile.  I’m pretty pleased that I ran all the way.

The coach asked me some time ago “how long can you run sub 13”?  The answer today was 8.something miles.  Today is probably my longest, fastest run in life.  Pretty cool.  The coach managed told me today that the next goal is 13 miles at sub 12:30.  I’m not at all scared about being able to doing it, although I might not be able to it today.

And it turns out that two other friends are going to run the Santa Rosa full marathon (I’ve already signed up).   A bunch of people went for a bike ride after the run today…some for the first time with the Sole Runners.  As I told my friend Michele P, talk to me in January.  I’m busy this year.

And another thing…I am going to start running back to back on the weekends — starting this weekend.   I think that rather than go down to the ocean and grinding out the miles alone, that I’m going to go run 10K races.  (There has to be a 10K someplace in southern California every single weekend day.)  It’s only 6 miles, but it’s 6 miles at race pace (that’s more than an hour run at race pace).  And it’s with people.  I have absolutely no idea what’s gotten into to me.

I have to take a nap.  I’m going to a dinner with the new President (and 500 of my closest friends) at the University of Redlands, in Redlands, at 6 PM tonight.

Training Today:  8.something times at 12:30-ish/mile

One thought on “Faster…

  1. Congratulations on a solid run!

    I was determined to take it easy and walk/jog and then work called and I ran and then walked when I got too tight and then ran all the way back to the car.

Leave a Reply

