About the Weight, unfortunately…

IMG_0239[1]22 July 2013, Monday

If there’s anything on the planet I don’t want to blog about, it’s weight.  I do not want to be another person out in the ether yammering on about weight.  Unfortunately, I’m not doing what I need to be doing in that regard, and so, now I’m going to try public humiliation as a method of motivation.

To go where I want to go with my running I need to get rid of 20 pounds.  And I need to stop farting around and get rid of them (the pounds).  I am going to use a diet (don’t bother me with the crap about lifestyle changes) I got from my trainer (and god), Mike Henderson, built for the athlete who needs to lose weight.  Which means it has support built in around daily work outs.

Last night, when I was taking the menu from a xerox sheet to an excel worksheet I was appalled at the (small) amount of food involved.  And the cooking.  Not much but 10x more than I do now.  Ugh.  I have to go to the grocery store and buy eggs (for the whites) and a very few veggies to make this all work.

IMG_0244[1]

I made these yesterday.  Very cool.

Today’s morning run was good (fast) and bad.  Before the run I lay down and did clamshells, and the coach poked my glutes showing me where I should be feeling the lift.  The difference between one point and another (on my butt) was a light finger poke and a needle sticking in to me.  “WHAT was that!”  He assured me all the touches were the same pressure.  So I have an assignment for the massage tonight…see what you can do about where the IT band connection.

About 3/4 mile into the run I felt like I was going to throw up (a common feeling at the start of my runs, these days).  After feeling quezy in my stomach for awhile, I tried to swallow to see if my throat felt like I was going to throw up.  Swallowing while running, unconsciously, is easy, but trying consciously to swallow is really difficult, and it made me breath rapidly and shallowly.  My throat did not feel like throwing up, so I settled down and ran on.  We had a good run all the way to the car.

I’m going into WEEK THREE of all good runs.  I don’t know how or why the tide changed, but it did.  Even Saturday’s long run was good.  Even the bad runs are good.

The coach has suggested I change the display of my garmin, so tomorrow I’m going to start working on that.  He thinks displaying the average pace would be better for me than the current pace.  I have not looked at that before because, like your school gpa, it’s SO difficult to bring it back up (i’m better off not knowing).

IMG_0241[1]

Food today:  all recorded

Training Today:  Run 3.5 miles below race pace, lift weights, massage

Leave a Reply

