Walking and Swimming

IMG_0572[1]Tuesday, 17 September 2013

So, I’m not even taking time off this month.  I can’t get up any gumption to pack to go anywhere.  (Even tho’ I’d very much like to see my friend Barbara in South Carolina.)  I like where I work (my living room).  And I can use the vacation time some other time.

No matter what I look like on the outside, I’m moping around inside.

Today I went and swam 8 laps – 400 meters (how far is that, anyway?).  It was weird, I felt like I couldn’t get enough breath in.  Then I went to hill intervals at the beach.  The runners did a 1 or 2-mile warm up run and then ran hills.  I went out and walked 3 miles in the same time they did all that other stuff.  I cannot walk faster than 16 or 17 minute miles.

After the runners were done, the coach and I talked about swimming for a little while.  I was trying to get a feel for what I should be doing in the pool.  He says to me “I have to teach you to swim”.  Hummm.  What exactly was I doing out there with my arms moving?  So I says, “let’s assume I can swim”.  And he says, can you breathe on both sides.  Yes.  I know he doesn’t believe me.  You gotta love that in the guy.  However he did talk about breathing and in his world, one holds on to the breath until just before the next breath, allowing the air in the lungs to contribute to buoyancy.  Interesting.  I have been taught to blow it out during the stroke so you’re empty when the next breath comes along.

The deal is, the moping around, I am angry about losing my fitness level.  However, apparently there are swimming drills (and this surprizes me how) that one can do.  So I could swim with him once a week and then work in the JCC pool 3-4 days a week.

This makes me smile.  Instead of piles of sweaty stretchy clothes waiting to be laundered, now there are soaking wet piles of stretchy clothes waiting to be laundered.  And wet towels.

Big news. I got a bonus from work.  For wrestling a project to completion; sorta the last man standing award.  Anyway, after taxes and such it will buy 1/3 or 1/4 of a road bike.  When I can sit on one, which I cannot do now.

Leave a Reply

