Coming back to the start

IMG_0691[1]2 November 2013

Apparently it was a seriously fun Friday night.

I came upon this horizontal stop sign — bent over at the base — on the way to Sole Runners.  I have no idea what happened, but it made me laugh.  So much so, that after I’d drive past it once, I circled the block to come back and get a picture.

IMG_0692[1]

I went for a run today.  The start of my “non” season.  In the summer (and this week) we run along the Marine Stadium in Long Beach.  Built for rowing events at the 1932 Olympics, it is 1/2 mile of water, and parking lot, that sees a lot of dragon boat racing, scull racing, and motor boat/water skier events.  I came to the day thinking I’d run 5 miles in whatever time that would take me.  Instead, I ran out a mile with my right hamstring aching, and walked back.  The weather was fabulous, sunny and clear.  The group was fun.

At home, I soaked in epson salts for awhile (I fell asleep in the tub), then took a longer nap. 

I’m having a lot of trouble getting moving after the time off of all activities.  I committed to 20 miles a week (a total of 80 miles) for Pile On The Miles…I chose a small number because I’m not training for anything major…so I need to run 3 miles a day…eek.  I am definitely not an every-day kind of runner.  We’ll have to see how this goes.

It’s fall back clock night.  A mixed blessing.  An extra hour of sleep, but from here on out it’s going to be dark when I get up and dark when I go to bed.  I don’t care about the AM darkness so much (not being much of an AM person), but I HATE the dark nights.  (I’d complain more, but to what effect.)

I have three friends (maybe more, actually) running in the NYC Marathon tomorrow.  I’m looking forward to following them and their finish…if the tming is right I’m hoping there will be a camera at the finish line and I can watch them cross.  I will be doing a local 5K and then going to watch my friend (5 years old) play water polo. 

 

Leave a Reply

