Riding a Bike

IMG_0977[1]   Friday, 31 January 2014

This afternoon I went for a bike ride through El Dorado Park.  I went alone, and it was a little chilly.  But it was a whole bunch of practice.

And the LAST time I’m riding without padded shorts.  Yikes!

IMG_0978[1]

First I rode around the parking lot and practiced stopping and starting, clipping and un-clipping.  Then I had to scout out the route to the path — up the exit amongst a bunch of cars, then across a cross walk, onto a path.

The bike path has a stripe down the middle, dividing the coming and going, and the one side along the river was VERY narrow.  That was scary.  I ended up riding along on the wrong side of the path (no oncoming bikes) because I wasn’t certain enough to ride on the skinny half close to the edge of the river.

Then I rode around the archery part of the park twice – about 4.5 miles.  I run this ALL the time in the summer and I know how long it takes to run.  Riding along the same path (not the street) was super fast.

They are building two dog parks near the Spring Street entrance.  One for big dogs and one for little dogs.  The little dog park has just one bench for humans.

Then I rode along the river to the other part of El Dorado, where the lakes are located.  I rode on the street, opposite the way you run.  Twice.  Mirella tells me this is 1.8 miles, so that was 3.6 miles.  And I think the route to and from the car was a at least 1/2 mile each way, so the entire event was about 8.5-9 miles.  You have to be thinking about snapping your foot out while you’re evaluating whatever is upcoming.

The sky was fabulous

IMG_0976[1]

IMG_0975[1]

All good.  The one fly in the ointment is that my right knee hurts with every stroke (cycle?  turn?  push?). Next time I have to put on phiten before I start.

Leave a Reply

